Friday, 12 August 2011

Practical steps to spirituality - Part 13

Karma Yoga -path of  action  -part  4

karma  yoga  consists  of two  words-  karma  and action  ,karma  refers  to proper   action  and yoga  refers to  proper  attitude. All possible  actions  can  be  classified   as  satvik,  rajasik,and tamasik.  Satvik  actions  are  those  that have   maximum  positive  influence  on  spiritual  growth. . These  actions  beneifit  the   .maximum   number  of   beings..All noble  karmas  fall  under  this  group.  You  give  more  and  take  less,  greater  the  giving ,  greater  is    the  growth.

There  are  five  fold  Yajnas  -sacrifices  , which will come  under satvik  actions. 1.Deva Yajna-worship of and  prayer  to the lord.  The  most  noble  prayer  is   - Sarve  Bhavanthu   Sukinaha..  Loka  Samastha Sukhino  Bhavanthu..  .May  all be  happy.  This  prayer  goes  beyond  the  terrestrial  world..  The  whole  of  creation  gets  energised   by  your  prayer  which  generates  positive  energy.

 2.    Pithru  Yajna.   It  is  an  expression  of  gratitude   to your  parents , who were  instrumental  in   bringing  you  into  this  world  . You give  them  your  love  and  respect and  you  show  your  gratitude  for  all that  they  do  for  you  by  taking  care  of  them  in their  old age. You  also  express  your  gratitude  to  your  ancestors   by doing  some  charitable  works  on their  death  anniversaries

3. Brahma  Yajna - You express  your  gratitude  to  the  rishis,  who have  given   us  the vedas  and secondary  scriptures  .All they  want  from  us  is  to gain   and  preserve   this knowledge  and  in your own  life time  pass on this  knowledge  that  you  have  acquired  from  your  guru  to  some  genuinely  interested  seeker  .Swami  Chinmayananda  was  the first  in  modern  times  to  bring  this knowledge  in  a systematic  manner  to  the  general  public

to be continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment