Sunday, 14 August 2011

Practical steps to spirituality - Part 16

Karma  Yoga -path  of action-part  7

Some  more  ways  in which  you can  help  others. Sastras  speak  of  four  types  of  yajnas. Yajnas  signify actions , dedicated to  a  higher  ideal , done  with  a spirit  of  service  and  sacrifice.

1. Dravya  yajna-  gift  of  material  wealth. You  may start  with  spending  money  on  the education  of  poor  and deserving  students. You  may  gift  away , all the  things  which  you  will not  need  ,which  you have just  piled up in your homes,  to  orphanages  and  oldage  homes.

2. Tapo  yajna. - a physical  sacrifice . You  help  another  by  your  physical  presence, giving  emotional  support.   You may visit  terminally  ill patients  in  hospitals and spend  time with  them.

3. Yoga  yajna  -spiritual  help. This  is  greater  than  the above  two. You  may  help  others  to grow  spiritually  by  sharing   your  knowledge  of  the  sastras. You  may  start   classes  in  your  locality  for children  and  teach  them  the eternal  values  of  honesty, punctuality,  ahimsa  , peace etc

4.Svadyaya  gnana  yagna.  It  is  the yajna  of  self knowledge  wherein  one  sacrifices his  ignorance to  gain  self  knowledge. Sastras  say that  your  highest  duty  is  what  you  owe  to  yourself.  Your only  mission  in  life  is  to  realise  your  Self..  To remove  ignorance,  which  is  shielding  you  from  knowing  yourself,  you have  to study  , reflect  and  assimilate  the  teachings  given  out by  the  sastras  and  make  this  knowledge  your  own  , a truth  for  yourself   ,when  you  will declare  that   you  are that  Brahman .

You may  be  wondering how  a  realised  person  can  give  the  highest  service  to  others . He is  a fountain  of  bliss and  wisdom.  He  radiates  peace  and  bliss  wherever  he goes  and  helps  others  to  evolve  and  gain  this  wisdom  and  become  free from  bondage.

No comments:

Post a Comment