Wednesday, 14 September 2011

dos and donts given out by sastras


Practical steps to spirituality- section 1 -part  44

Gana yoga path of knowledge- part 17

Sastras  also ,   in  addition  to  the  four   fold  disciplines  ,gives  importance  to a   few  more  disciplines..  A man  must   lead  an ethical  life  in  which  he  follows  ethical  values.  Sastras  give  dos  and  donts  .  The  five  donts  put  in a negative  way  are  called  yama  ,and  the  five  dos   put in a positive way  are  called    niyama.

The  five  donts  are  :1.  himsa  varjanam- avoidance  of  all forms  of  violence -   physical,  verbal  and  mental .  .2.  asatya  varjanam-   avoidance  of     telling   lies.. 3.  steya  varjanam-  avoidance  of  stealing  . Any  illegitimate  possession    or  any  benefit  you  get  through    an  illegitimate  deal   amounts  to  stealing..4. maithuna  varjanam  -  avoidance  of   inappropriate  sexual    relationships.  5.  parigraha  varjanam-  avoidance  of  over  possession  and hoarding. and  to  put  in a  positive  way  simple  living  and    if  you  have  more  share  it  with  others.

The  five  dos  are  :1.  purity   inside  and  outside  and   even  in  your  thoughts.  2.  santosha  -contentment..  It  is  a positive  contentment   with  whatever  you  have  acquired   through  legitimate  ways.   3. tapa- austerities.- any  self  denial   practiced    for  gaining  mastery  over  oneself..  4.  swadhyaya  -  scriptural  study  is  very  important   to  grow  spiritually.  5.  Ishwara   pranidanam  -  surrender  to  the  Lord    by  which  you  accept ,  without  resistance ,  every  experience   as  a  gift  from   God    and  not    allowing  the   experience  to  generate    negative  energy.

 to be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment