Saturday, 8 October 2011

five layers of personalities.


 Practical steps to spirituality- section 1 -part 67

The  five  layers  of  personality.-  the  pancha  koshas. 

This  is  only  a division  of  the  three bodies  gross,  subtle  and  causal   in  a  different  manner..  The  division  of   the  three  bodies  is  based  on  matter  and  the  five  layers  of  personality  are  based  on  their  functions..  The  five  koshas  are:  annamaya  ,      pranamaya,  manomaya    vigyanamaya   and  anandamaya  koshas. . The  gross   physical   body  is  called  the  annamaya  kosha  and  the  causal  body  is  called  the  anandamaya  kosha.  The   subtle  body  in  between  these  two  is  sub-divided  into  three   koshas ,  the  pranamaya,  manomaya  and  vigyanamaya

1.  The  annamaya  kosha  is  the  anatomical  part  of  the  body..  It  is  born  out  of  the  essence  of  food  and  is  nourished  out  of  food.  2. The  pranamaya  kosha  refers  to  the  physiological    functions  known  as  prana    The  subtle  body  is  supposed  to  be  leaving  the  physical  body  at  the  time  of  death..  The  three koshas  pranamaya,    monamaya  and  vigyanamaya    leave  the  body  at  the  time  of  death..  So  at  the  time  of  death  the  physical  body  stops  functioning.,  The  physical  heart  is  there  but  does  not  function  as  the  subtle  body  has  left  the  physical  body..  The  pranamaya,  manomaya  and  vigyanamaya  all    three consist  of  ten  organs    -  five  organs   of  actions  and  five    faculties   of  prana..  they  are  called  kriya  sakti.. . The  organs  of  actions  give  the  tools  and  prana  gives  energy. .

  3. The  manomaya   kosha   does  the  psychological    functions  such  as  doubting   and  emotions  etc   ..Desire  alone  prompts    a  person  to  function  .  It  is  the  ichcha  sakti   .  The  manomaya  pushes  the  pranas  to  function..  This  consists  of  six  organs-  the  five  organs  of  perception  and  the  mind.  memory  and  ego  are  included  in  the  mind.  4.      Vigyanamay kosha    is  the  cognitive  -knowing  personality.  It  is  the  gnana  sakti..  . The  vigyanamaya    knows,   manomaya  desires  and   pranamaya  acts..  The  vigyanamaya  kosha  has  six  organs  they  are- five  organs  of    knowledge  ( eye, ear,  nose  ,tongue  and  skin )  and  the  buddhi  -  the  rational  faculty  ,  the  intellect,  and  memory  and  ego  are  also  included  in  the  mind.. The  emotional  faculty  and  rational  faculty  are  not  different  organs   , their  internal  organs  are  the  same.  When  it  is  thinking  it  is   the intellect  and  when   emotional  it  is  the  mind..  They  are  not  separate  organs  but  given  different  names  as  per  functions.

5.  The  anandamaya  kosha  refers  to  the causal  body..  It  refers  to  the  unconscious  personality..  Whatever  emotions  are  dormant   express themselves  at  the  appropriate  time..  .  It  is  a  blissful  state  for  example  sleep  is  a  blissful      but  an   unknown  state.  One  is  blissfully  ignorant.  Vedanta  talks    about  Brahman  as  sat  chit  ananda  . Tthe  ananda  spoken  here  is  not  born  out  of  ignorance    Ii  is  born  out  of  knowledge.  but  here  in  this  anandamaya  kosha  one  is  in  ignorance. One  enjoys  relative  bliss    and  not  the  absolute   bliss of  Self  realization..  The  bliss sheath consists of  vasanas  ,  the  inherent  tendencies  that  one  is  made  up  of  .and  it is  the  subtlest  form  of  human  personality.

The  human  personality  is  composed  of    these  five  material    layers  also  called  sheaths  with  the  Self  at  the  centre . Atman  is  pure  consciousness. .  It  appears  tainted   when  it  functions  through  these  koshas-  laters.  and one  becomes  the  limited   human  being.. The  conditioning    of  pure  Consciousness  comes  because  of  your  identification  with  the  mind ,  body  and  intellect

to  be  continued......

No comments:

Post a Comment