Sunday, 9 October 2011

personality chart


 Practical steps to spirituality- section 1 part 68

The  personality  chart  :

The  three gunas ,   satva,  rajas  and  tamas ,  combine   in  different  proportions  to  give  a  variety  of  individuals..  Your  aim  should  be  to  grow  from  tamas  to  rajas     to  satva  and  finally  to  trans satva  state.. You  have  to  analyse  the  three   gunas  in  you  and  find  out  what  type  of  personality  you  are..  The  Bhagavad  Gita  has    classified  action  and  renunciation  under  the  three  gunas.. Action  has  been  further  classified  in to    knowledge,  actor,  intellect,  and  steadfastness .  Happiness  has  been   classified   under  three  groups. .  The  main  purpose  of  these  classifications  is  to  evaluate  yourself,     make  improvements  where  needed  and   discard  those  that  are  obstacles  in  your  spiritual  path.

1. a) Satvik  knowledge.   It  is  that  knowledge    that  helps  find  the  divinity  in  all beings.  ,  the  underlying  unity    amidst  the  diversity    and  see  the  dignity  of  love  in  all human  relationships.  1.  b)  Rajasic  knowledge:.  It  is  that  knowledge  that  sees    the  diversity  rather  than  the   underlying   unity  .  1 c)  tamasic  knowledge:  It  is  that  knowledge   which   claims  the  part  to  be  the  whole..and  is  full of  dogmatic  beliefs 

2.Action  -  karma:2.  a)  Satvik  action   is  based  on  your  obligatory  duties..  They  are  not  based  on  likes  and  dislikes.   .Satvik  action  is  that  action   which   is  done  for  the  sake  of  action  without    any  expectations  of  the  fruits  of  action.  2. Rajasic  action  It  is  that  action  that  is  motivated  by    desire    and  is  done  purely   on  future  expectations  of  the  results  of  that  action.  2.  c)  Tamasic  action  :  It  is  born  out  of  delusion.  The  obligatory  actions  are  not  done  and  the  actions  are  irresponsible    actions  without  the  thought  of  their  consequences.

3.   Actor-  karta:    a)  A  satvik  actor    has  no  ego  feeling  of    i  am  the  doer .  He  does  not  have  attachments.  He  has  such  wonderful  qualities  of  steadfastness,  enthusiasm  and  consistency. The   satvik actor  has  a  balanced  mind.  b)  the  rajasic  actor  .  His  desires  are  many    and  whatever  he  does  ,  he  does  for  the  fruits  of  actions.  He  may  become  unscrupulous    to  gain  what  he  wants   and  so  he  is  always  agitated.   c). tamasic  actor... He  has  no  motivation  to  achieve  anything  in  life.  He  justifies  his  way  of  living    and  that  of  his  actions   .He  does  not  perform  any  of  his  obligatory  duties.

4.  Intellect-  buddhi  :  a)  satvik  buddhi  is  that  which  is  able  to  discriminate  between    the  real  and  the  unreal  ,  between  the  path  of  action  and  that  of  renunciation.  This  helps   the  satvik  person  to  choose   the  right  kind  of  activity  in  accordance  with  his  inherent  nature..  So  satvik  intellect  knows  what  ought  to  be  done  and  what  ought  not  to  be  done..  Sat  intellect  helps  to  distinguish  between  bondage  and  liberation.  and  pursue  the  spiritual  path  and  gain  wisdom.,    b)  rajasic  ntellect:.  This  gives  one  a  wrong  understanding  of  what  is  righteousness  and  what  is  unrighteousness..  So  one  ends   making    wrong  decisions  .  c)  tamasic  intellect:  is  covered  by  ignorance... It  is  perverted  and  so  leads  one  to  total  destruction.

discussion  on  the  personality  chart  to  be  continued.....


  1. Geetha, I understood the 3 gunas but I am not able to find to which type I belong. Can u explain to me how I can find. I know I have to analyse and let me try. good work.

    1. Hello
      No body will understand what we are all gunans come out during situations.