Monday, 10 October 2011

personality chart


 Practical steps to spirituality- section 1 part 69

  The  personality  chart - part 2

So  far  we  have  seen  the  three gunas  from  the  knowledge  , action,  actor,  and  intellect  aspects  Now  we  will see  from  the  aspect  of  steadfastness.  ,happiness ,   and   renunciation.
5. Steadfastness  :dhriti  a)  satvik   dhriti-         It  is  the  unswerving    consistency  in  the  pursuit  of   the  highest  goal  in  life.  This  quality  helps  one   to  restrain  from   extroverted  activities.  and  guide  the  intellect  to  do  righteous  actions.  b)   rajasik  steadfastness  -  One  clings  on  to  one's  duties  and    responsibilities    in a   feverish  way.  What  motivates  one  here  is  to  acquire  wealth   and  enjoy  what  has  been  acquired.  .So  one  is  highly  attached  to   his  actions  and  their  results  and  is  agitated.  He  shows  consistency  in  doing  all this.  c)  tamasik  steadfastness  :It  is  the  consistency  with  which  one   keeps    fearing   and  grieving    over  the  experiences  of  life..  It  is  having  an  arrogant  attitude  to  life.

6.  Satvik  happiness..  It  is  that  which  is  painful  in  the  beginning  but   ends  up  blissful  .  The  spiritual  pursuit    is  difficult     in  the  beginning  but   when  one  realizes  the  Self  ,he  in  bliss.  The  very  pursuit  of  the  highest  goal  gives  happiness.  b) rajasik  happiness-It  is  the  opposite  of  satvik  happiness  .  It  feels  good  in  the  beginning  but  ends  up  in  sorrow   or    in  pain..  Sensual  pleasures  are  pleasurable  in  the  beginning  but   become   painful  and  unpleasant  when  one  goes  on  indulging.  in  the  sense  pleasures.   c)  tamasic  happiness-   This  comes  from  the  total  ignorance  of  the  Supreme  Self.. It  comes  from  sleep,  indolence   and  inertia.

7.  Renunciation    thyaga :     Satvik  renunciation  :   It  is  the  giving  up  of  the  attachments  and  expectations  of  the results  of  the  action  while  one  does  the  obligatory  duties.  . It  is  not  renunciation  of  action  but  renunciation  in  action.  b)  rajasic  renunciation  :  It  is  that  wherein  one  gives up  actions   out  of  fear  of  bodily  pain  etc..  So  one  takes  up  only  such  activities  that  are  pleasant  and   not    those   that      produce  pain.  So  this  is  not  renunciation  at  all.   c)   tamasic  renunciation-  One  does  not  know  what  his  obligatory  duties  are  .  He  is  confused , so  he    escapes  from  doing  them .  He  does  not  do  what  ought  to  be  done  and  this  is  not  renunciation.  His  ignorance  is  no  justification  for  not  doing  his  duties. 

Conclusion:    The  personality  chart  is   just  a  classification  made  to  help  each  know   the  different  personalities  there  could  be,  based  on  the  three gunas    based  on  knowledge,  actor,  action,  buddhi,  steadfastness,  happiness  and  renunciation. . This  classification  must  be  used  to  measure   oneself  to  find  out  where  one  stands  in  the  chart , .make  improvements  wherever  possible   and  try  to  give  up  some   areas  that    degrade  him.  .  The  aim  is  to  grow  from  tamasic  to  rajasic  to  satvik  .  This  personality  chart  is  only  for   assessing  and  judging    yourself  and  not  for   judging  others  .  This  must   always   be  kept  in  mind..

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment