Sunday, 13 November 2011

upanishads - brahma vidya


Practical  steps to spirituality- section 2 - part 1

Upanishads:  part  -1

Veda  +  anta  ,  the  end  of  vedas , consists  of  the  philosophical  portions  of  the  vedas  called    the upanishads.  Of  208  upanishads    unearthed  so  far,  108  ,  have  been  accepted  as  authentic  texts  , only  eleven  out  of  them  have  been  commented  upon  by  the acharyas-  Adi  Sankara,  Sri  Ramanuja  and   Madhavachary. These  elevan  upanishads  are  considered  as  major   and  there  are  some  minor  upanishads..  They  are called  minor  because  the  great  acharyas    did not  write  any  commentaries  on  them.

The  term  upanishad  has  a  powerful  meaning  and  deep  significance.. Upa+  ni  +  shad  ,  upa  means  near,  ni  means  down,  shad  means  sit. The  term  describes  the  literature  as  that  which  cannot  be  learned   directly    by  the  student  from  the  vedantic  text  books.  It  is  necessary  that  he  approaches  a  teacher  in  an  attitude  of  devotion  and  surrender  and  reverence.   The  word  sad  also  means  destruction.  So  upanishad  is  a  literature  that  destroys  ignorance  of  Reality  by  revealing  the  experience  of  the  Supreme.. When  the  word  sad  means   approach,  it  means  that  this  literature  helps  the  student  to  approach  or  attain  the  Supreme  wisdom.. Upanishad  ultimately  means   Brahma  vidya. . It  is  also  called  a  secret  ,  not  because  it  should  not  be  revealed  to  anyone,  but  because  it  is  difficult  to  understand  even  when  it  is  revealed  .So  remains  a  secret.

The  upanishads  may  be  taken  to  constitute  a  science-  the  science  of  life.  Just  as  one  studies  physics,  chemistry  or  mathematics,  one  has  to  study  this  literature  in  a  scientific  manner  and  one  has  to  arrive  at  a  conclusion  after  one  experiences  the  truth  for  himself.. The  upanishads  do not  give  any  blind  promises.. One  has  to  carefully    observe  and  analyse  the  known  and  very  logically  infer  the  possibilities  of  the  unknown. The  topics  under  discussion    in  the  upanishads  are  about  Iswara,  jiva  and  jagat.  and  how  each  one  is  related  to  the  other.

The  knowledge  that  was  prized  most  in   ancient  India  by  the  rishis   is  known  as  Brahma  vidya.. As  one  gets  this  knowledge  one  attains  immortality..  This  knowledge  is  different  from  any    ordinary knowledge  which  is  a  product  of  the  intellect.. According  to  the  Mundaka  upanishad,  one  should  acquire  two  forms  of  knowledge  , the  apara, the  lower  and  the  para,  the  higher.. The  lower  consists  of    the  beginning  portions  of  the  four  vedas,  namely,  rig,  yajur,  sama  and  atharvana  , which  are  the  ritualistic  portions  called  the  karma  kanda.  and  their  six  auxillaries.. They  deal  with  the  phenomenal  universe. Lower  knowledge  helps  one  in  his  materialistic  pursuits  but  its  results  are  not  permanent.

to be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment