Sunday, 20 November 2011

law of karma


Practical steps  to spirituality  - section 2 part 8 

The  law  of  karma:  part  1

Hindus  view  the  law  of  karma   as   merely  a  law  of  cause  and  effect.. Karma  is  not  retribution  or  punishment.  but  simply  an  expression  or  consequence  of  natural  acts.. Karma  means  deed  or  act  and   broadly  names  the  universal  principle  of  cause  and  effect,   action  and  reaction.  that  governs  all life. . Karma  is  not  fate,  for  humans  act  with  free  will  creating  their  own  destiny.. According  to  the  vedas , if  one  sows  goodness  , one  will reap  goodness  , if  one  sows  evil ,one  will reap  only  evil.. Karma  refers  to  the  totality  of  all our  actions  and  their  concomitant   reactions  in  this  and  previous  lives, all  of  which  determine  the  future.

Karma  is  a  concept  in  Hinduism   which explains  causality,  where  beneficial    effects  are  derived  from  beneficial  actions.  and  harmful  effects  from  harmful  actions.,  creating  a  system  of  actions  and  reactions  through  out  a  soul's      reincarnation ,  forming  a  cycle  of  rebirths. The  causality  is  said  to  be    applicable   not  only  to  the  material  world,  but  also  to  our  thoughts , words and  deeds.. When  the  cycle  of  rebirth  comes  to  and  end,  a  person  is  said  to  have  attained  moksha,  salvation.  from  samsara. . The  conquest  of  karma  lies  in  intelligent  action  and  dispassionate  response. . Not  all  incarnations  are  human.  The  cycle  of  birth  and  death  on  earth  is  said  to  be  formed  by  8.4  million  forms  of  life ,  but  only  in  human   life    an  exit  from  this  cycle is  possible.

Hindu  scriptures  divide  karma  into  three  kinds.  Sanchita-  is  the  accumulated  karma   from  many  lives. . It  would  be  impossible   to  experience  and  endure  all  the  karma's  in  one  life time.. From  the  stock  of  the  sanchita  karma , only  a  handful  is  taken  out  to  go  through  in  this  life  time  and  this  handful  of  actions  which  have  begun  to  bear  fruit  and   which  will be  exhausted   only  on  their  fruits  being    enjoyed  is  known  as  prarabda  karma.  The  third  is  the  agami  karma  which  is  the  karma  that  is  being  created  in  the  present. and  which  will  bear  its fruits   in  the  future.. So long  as   the  sanchita  karma   lasts  ,  a  part  of  it  is  taken  out  as  prarabda  karma  for  being  experienced  in  the  present  life  time .and  so  it  requires  many  janmas  to  exhaust  the  sanchita  karmas  .  But  then  new  karma  is   also being  created  in  this  life  time.. A jiva  cannot  attain  moksha  until  all  the  karmas  are  completely  exhausted..

to be  continued......

No comments:

Post a Comment