Sunday, 26 February 2012



 Practical steps to spirituality-  section 2  part 91


                The  intellect  can  be  divided  into  two  , the  gross  dealing  with the  phenomenal  world  and  the  subtle  with  the  transcendental  Reality. . It  is  only  a  subtle  intellect  that  can  conceive  of the  possibility  of a  state  beyond  the  three known  states  of  consciuosness  namely-  waking, dreaming  and  deep  sleep  states. . It  is  the  fourth  state  called  turiya ,  where  one  realizes   the  real  Self  beyond  the  three states.

                 The  child  says  , I am  a  child,  when  it  grows  in to a  boy  says  , I am  a  boy,  later  when  he grows  into  a youth  he  says  , I am  a  youth,  then  when  he  grows  into a  man  he  says  , I am  a  man  and  when  he  becomes  old  he  says  I am  an  old  man. . We  know  that  the  child,   the  boy , the  youth,  the  man  and  old man    only     refer to  the  physical  and  mental  changes  of  the  individual. Then  what  is  common  to  all these  states  is  the  I..

                   A person  does  an  action   and  says  ,I  act,    when  he  perceives  something  he  says  ,I   perceive  , when  emotional  he  says  , I  feel  sad  or  happy,  when  using  the  intellect  he  says  , I  think, I judge  .Yet    all the  action,   perception   feeling  and  thinking  are  all referred  by  him  to  the  same  I.  Now  who  is  this  I  spoken  of  here  ?

                 Our  conclusion  then  is   that   the  I  pervades  all the  three states  of  consciousness  ,  the  I   pervades all  stages  of  a  man's  life  from  childhood  to  old age, ,  the  I  is  behind  all  actions,  perceptions  .feelings  and  thoughts. Vedanta  says  that   this   I  is  your  real  Self,  the  Supreme  Self  within  you. .

to be  continued.......

No comments:

Post a Comment