Wednesday, 2 May 2012

the distressed and the seeker of wealth


Practical  steps  to spirituality-  section  3 - part 52

Four  types  of  seekers-  part 1

                             In  the  Bhagavad  Gita  ,  Lord  Krishna   says  in verse  16 of  chapter 7  that  there  are  four  types  of  seekers. ,  four  types  of  virtuous   people   who  worship  the  lord. . Throughout   the  world  we  can  divide  people   as  either  believing  in  God  or  not  believing  in  God. . Even  among  those  who believe  in  God,   there  are  very   few   rare  beings  who  really  seek  God  and  reach  Him.

                           Lord  Krishna  divides  the  seekers   into  four  categories   according  to  the  fruit   that  each  seeker  wants  to  get  through  his  worship. . They are 1   the  seeker of  wealth,  2. the  distressed ,  3  .the  seeker  of  knowledge and  4 .  the wise  man. . The  first  three  seekers   the  seekers  of  wealth,  the  distressed  and  the  seeker  of  knowledge   seek  God   to  fulfill  their  physical,  emotional  and  intellectual   needs   respectively. When  their   desires  are  fulfilled  , they  give  up  their  worship   and  again  when  a  new  desire  crops  up  they  worship  the  Lord  again.

                          The  seeker  of  wealth,  the  artharthi,   wants  wealth   to  fulfill all  his  other  desires   for  a  comfortable   living  and  to  indulge  in  sensual  pleasures. . The   second  type   of  seeker  is  the  aarti, the  distressed , seeks  God  to  be  free  from  sorrow ,  mental  agitations,  worries  and  anxieties. . He  wants   to  find  peace  and  be  free   from  his  emotional  problems . So  he  prays  to  God  until  his  problems  get  solved  and  again  goes  back  to  God  when  another  problem  arises  in  his  life.

to  be  continued.......

1 comment:

  1. There are four types of seekers. the first three seek god for fulfilling their desires.