Thursday, 3 May 2012

the seeker of knowledge and the wise man


Practical  steps  to spirituality-  section 3 part  53

Four  types  of  seekers  - part 2

                         There are  four types  of  seekers  : the seeker of  wealth,  the  distressed,  the  seeker  of  knowledge  and the  wise man. The  third  type  of  seeker  is    the  seeker  of  knowledge. ,  whose  intellect  is  full of  curiosity   and   enquiry. . His  interest  lies  only  in  gathering  information  and   he  is  just  satisfied  with  the  information and  knowledge  he  has. He  is  not  much  bothered about  his  spiritual  growth. . He  has  many  questions  regarding  God, the  world  and  man's  place  in the world.

                          The  fourth  seeker  is  the  gnani,  the  wise  man. . He  is  completely  different  from  all the  other  three. . He  has  no  selfish  desires  to  be  fulfilled . So  his  prayers  are  not  self  centred. . His  only  desire  is  to  realize  God. . Lord  Krishna  says  his  devotion  is  pure . This  devotee  puts  in  concerted  and  consistent  effort  to  stay  in  this  spiritual  path   and  finally  to  merge  with  God.

                         Krishna  says  such  a  gnani  is  dear  to  Him  and  He  is  dear  to  the  gnani. . For  this  gnani  there  is  universal  love  in  his  heart   and  he  sees  God  everywhere. and  in  everything. . In fact  we  can  say  he  sees  nothing  other  than  God. . Everything is  Divine  for  him.

1 comment:

  1. the jigyasu runs after information and on getting them his quest ends there. The wise man is the gnani who seeks God for His sake only.. There are no selfish desires motivating him to seek the Divine.