Tuesday, 29 May 2012

the vedic path


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  3  part  78

The  nine  blessings  -  part  8  

                   The  fourth  in  the  list  of  blessings   is   to  apply  the    dharmic  laws  in  life. . When  one  has  a  human  birth     and  has  developed  sattvik  qualities  and  serener  qualities  of  heart    one really  becomes a  blessed  being. So  Sankaracarya  says    rarer  still  are  those  who  after  having  reached  the  third  step   take  the  fourth   step   and  apply  faithfully   in  their  life  the  dharmic  laws   enumerated  in  the  vedas  

           Selfless  karma,  japa    puja   practice  of  devotion   ,  study  of  the  vedas  alone  can  purify  the  mind   and  help  remove  the  demonic  nature  within    the  mind.  Chitta  suddhi,  purity  of  mind   is  developed   when  one  follows  the  vedic  path. Then  one  also  develops  chitta  ekagrata , single  pointedness  of  the  intellect   transforming  the  inner  personality  .  Many  think  that  being  a  good  person  is  just  enough  .  One  has  to  develop  chitta  suddhi  ,  purity  of  mind,  and  chitta  ekagrata  ,  single  pointedness  of  the  intellect  to  grow  spiritually  and  finally  walk  the  path  to  Self  Realization. 

           Sometimes  , even  those  with   sattvik  qualities  may  not  apply  the   sattvik  qualities  to  develop   to  the  next  step. . So  it  becomes  extremely  important  that  one  takes  to    living  the  dharmic  way  of  life   following  all  rules  earnestly  . So  those  who  have  graduated   to  this  level  are  rarer  than  those  with  just  sattvik  qualies.  .  Those  following  the  spiritual  practices  of  studying  the  vedas  ,  doing  japa  and  puja  along  with  other  required  disciplines  will  find  that   these  will   qualify one  to  go  to  the  fifth  step .

to  be  continued.........


No comments:

Post a Comment