Sunday, 10 June 2012

That Thou Art


Practical steps  to  spirituality-  section  3  part  89  

Shrimad  Bhagavad  Gita  -  part  6  

                   The  Vedas  , the  foremost  spiritual  texts  of  the  Hindus   gives  out   four  aphorisms  , known  as  mahavakyas  ,  great  declarations  . The   four    great  mahavakyas  are  as  follows. :  
1. Pragnanam  Brahma  -  Brahman  is  consciousness.   . this  appears  in  the   Aitareya  Upanishad   in  the  Rig  veda  . This  is  a  statement  of  definition  . ,  that  Brahman    the  supreme  Reality   is    Consciousness. It  functions  in  the  macro  as  well   as in  the  micro  level. . This  statement   is  called  a  lakshana  vakya-  statement   of  definution.

              2.  Tat    Tvam  Asi-  That  Thou  Art   is  the  second  statement. It  appears  in  the   Chandyoga  Upanishad   in  the  Sama  Veda..  That  refers  to  the  supreme  Reality  ,  Thou  refers  to  the  Atman  . It  establishes  the  oneness  of  Brahman  and  Atman  by  the  word  Art. . This  statement  is  in  the  form  of  an  advice   to  a  spiritual  seeker. So  it  is  a  upadesa   vakya-  statement  of  advice.

            3.Ayam  Atma  Brahma  -  the  Self  is  Brahman  . It  appears  in  the  Mandukya  Upanishad  in  the  Atharvana  Veda..   Ayam  means  this  ,  Atma  is  your  supreme  Self   within. The  Self  in  you  is  Brahman  ,  pervading  everywhere. Keep  repeating  this  statement  over and  over  again.  So  it  is  called   an   abhyasa  vakya-  a statement  of  practice.

           4. Aham  Brahma  Asmi-  I  am  Brahman.  ,  appears  in  the  Brihadaranyaka  Upanishad  in  the  Yajur  Veda. Aham  means  I,  Asmi  means  am  and  Brahman  is  God. . This  is  known  as  the  anubhava   vakya  -  statement  of  experience  . When  a seeker   experiences  the  THE   TRUTH  ,  he  claims  "   I am  God.  ".

           The  Bhagavad  Gita  has  18  chapters  and  some  great  thinkers  believe  that  the  the  Gita  can  be  divided  into    3   parts   , each  part  having  6  chapters. They  think  the  eighteen  chapters  refer  to  the  second  aphorism  :  THAT THOU ART.  . That  the  first  six  chapters  refer  to  THOU  ,  the  middle  six  to  THAT  and  the  last  six  chapters  establish  the  relationship  between  THAT  , the  supreme  Reality  and  THOU   the  Atman   by  the  term  ART.

to be  continued........


No comments:

Post a Comment