Tuesday, 31 July 2012

some more yajnas


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  -  part  38  

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  54 

Chapter  4  

                        The   five  yajnas  talked  about  by  Lord  Krishna    are  the  dravya  yajna,  the  tapo  yajna  ,  yoga  yajna  , swadyaya  yajna  and  jnana  yajna   , all  are   a  part  of  the  twelve  yajnas  discussed  here. .. We  have  seen  dravya  yajna  in  yesterday's  page.  . Tapo  yajna  is  that  yajna  in  which  a  person   offers  a  life  of  austerity   to  reach  a  higher  goal. . All  religions    prescribe  some  form  of  austerity   or  the  other. . This  self  denial  is  done  in  a  spirit  of  devotion  . . for  example  one  denies  to  oneself   food  for  one day  in  a  week,  some  observe  silence  once  a  week,  some  take  the  vow  of  celibacy  and  so  on.  . The  main  purpose  of  taking  these  vows  is  to  increase  one's  will  power  ,  once  tolerance  levels  and   discipline  the  wandering  mind. 

                   The  eighth  yajna  is  yoga  yajna  . . It  is  an  attempt     to  grow  more  divine   and  consists  of  worshiping  the  Lord   with  love  and  devotion.  This  quickens   the  seeker's  spiritual  growth. . The  ninth  yajna  is  swadyaya  yajna  . . The  deep  study  of  the  scriptures  is  called  swadyaya. . Only  a  study  of  the  scritures  can  give  the  seeker   a  correct  knowledge  of   all  the  spiritual  practices   that  are  worth  while  doing   and  how  useful  they  are  in  his  spiritual  journey. . Self  study  includes  also  includes   self  introspection  ,  going  within   to  understand  one's  own  weaknesses  and  getting  rid  of  them . . May  I  request  my  readers  to  go  through  one  of  the  previous  pages  wherein  the  importance  of  maintaining  the  study  hour  between  4 am  and  6  am  every  day of  your  life ,  with  no  breaks  or  holidays  was  stressed  .  This  study  increases  your  subtle  intellect  and   your whole  attitude  to  life  will  change  for  the  better.

                 Jnana  yajna  is  that  yajna  wherein   one  sacrifices  one's  ignorance  in  the  fire  of  knowledge..  The  seeker  gives  up  ignorance  and  asserts  his  real  Self. . Ignorance  of  one's  true  nature   becomes  the  root  cause  of  suffering  in  the  world. . When one  attains  knowledge  of  oneself ,  of  his  Divine  nature ,  nothing  in  the  world  can  ever  disturb  his  mind  any more. .  It  is  not  that  he  is  suudenly  going  to  be  free  from  all  his  problems,  no  it  is  just  that  even  if  they  are  there,  he  will  not  bother  about  them  nor  will  they  bother  him. . He  is  the  sthitha  pragya  we  have seen  in  previous  pages.

                   All  the  five  yajnas  from  dravya  yajna  to  jnana  yajna   are  methods  for   self  development. . They  can  be  practiced  by  anyone. One  just  needs  to  have  the  willingness   to  practice  them  with   consistency  and  sincerity.

to  be  continued.......



No comments:

Post a Comment