Friday, 27 July 2012

The 12 yajnas


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  -part  35

Shrimad  Bhagawad  Gita  - part  51 

Chapter  -  4  

                          This   chapter  deals  with  12  yajnas-  we may  call  them  techniques  for   living  a better  life. . The  12  yajnas  cover  the  whole  range  of  human   activities  ,   the  cycle  starting  with  the  receipt  of  the  stimuli  from  the  external  world   and  finally   ending  with   the  responses  back  to  the  world. .Yajnas  denote  that  any  activity  can  be  converted  into  a   worship. wherein  each  and  every  activity  becomes   a  prayer. 

                          The  first  two  yajnas  are  directed  to   limited   goals.,  deva  yajna  and  some  to  absolute  goals. ,  Brahma  yajna. . Some  direct  their   efforts  to  limited   devas  meaning  limited  goals. ,  while  some  others  direct  their  goals  to  Brahman,. . Devas   represent  the  limited  goals  pursued   like  wealth , so  one  worships  goddess   lakshmi,  some   pursue  knowledge  hence  worship  goddess  saraswathi and  so  on. .  When   sacrificial  efforts  are  directed  towards   a  noble  cause  ,  you  achieve  your  goals  in  life. .  As  contrasted  with  deva  yajna  ,   in  the  Brahma  yajna   the  seeker  offers   the  Self   as   a  sacrifice   by  the  Self   in  the  fire  of  Self. . .

                            To  put  this  in  simple  terms  it  means   that  as  long  as   one  exists  only   in  body  consciousness  , one  comes  across  the   world  of  sense  objects. . The  outer  world  cannot  by  itself   trouble  anyone   and  create  sorrow  in  one's  mind. . So  the  great  masters  believed   that  one  sacrificed  the  sense  organs  in  the  knowledge  of  Brahman   and  gained  the  freedom   from  the  senses  by   dedicating  their  sense  life  in  the  service  of  the  world. . Sacrificing  senses  means  making  use  of  your   senses  not  for  sensual  pleasures  , but  making  them  work  for  the  world  at  large.

to  be  continued......

No comments:

Post a Comment