Monday, 30 July 2012

the topic on 12 yajnas continues.


Practical   steps  to   spirituality-  section  4  - part  37  

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  53 

 Chapter  4  

                            We  are  seeing  the  twelve  yajnas  as  elaborated  by  Lord  Krishna  in  this  chapter  4 . . In  the  fifth  yajna  ,  some  masters  sacrifice   all  the  functions  of  the  senses   and  the  functions  of  the  breath    in  the  fire  of  self  restraint   aided  by  knowledge. .  So  all  the  sense  organs   of  perception  as  well  as  the  sense  organs  of  actions   are  offered  into   knowledge  kindled   by  the  fire  of  right  understanding. .  . It  is  the  control  of  the  ego   by  the  better  understanding  of   the  Divine  Reality    that  is  called  here   as  the  yoga  of  self  restraint  . . The  path  of  inquiry  lies  through    a  constant  remembrance  of   the  Divine   and    in   differentiating  the  Divine  from  the  limited  ego.

                          Krishna  talks  about  five  more  yajnas  ,  about  how  some    offer  wealth, , some  austerities,  some  yoga  as  sacrifice  , while  ascetics   of  rigid  vows  offer   study  of  the  scriptures   and   while  some  offer  knowledge  as  sacrifice. .  Offering  of  wealth  is  called  -  dravya  yajna. . It  is  sharing  of  one's  wealth  with  others  with  a  spirit  of  devotion   to   and  in   the  service   of  the  community. . Dravya  includes  all  that  one  possess  , it  is  not  only  sharing  one's  money  with  others  .  It  is  not  just  writing  out  a  cheque  because  you can  afford  it. . It  also  includes  the  wealth  that  one  has,  his  time  and  energy  for  others  by  his  physical  presence,    his  emotional  support,  his  intellectual  support  to  any  cause   and  so on.

                          So  it  amounts  to  sharing  our  ideas   our  emotions   for  helping  others. . So  sharing  with  the  world   as  best  as  we  can    all  we  possess  ,  physically,  , mentally,   intellectually   is  called  dravya  yajna  . . Sometimes  even  a  look  of  appreciation  can   bring  hopes  to  a  depressed  man,  even  a  smile  can   bring  cheer  into  someone's  life. . All  this  is  not  possible  unless   one  has  raised  oneself  spiritually  . Only  when  one  has  grown  in  his  spiritual  evolution   that  he  will  extend  himself  onto  seeing  others  as  himself  or  rather  as   others   having  the  same  sparks  of   Divinity   as  he  himself  . He  will  see  God  everywhere  and   this  will  make   him  sacrifice  his  all  for   others.

to  be  continued.......

No comments:

Post a Comment