Saturday, 28 July 2012

the twelve yajnas - continues


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  -part  36  

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita-  part  52  

Chapter  4  

                                 Lord  Krishna  is  elaborating  on  twelve  yajnas  -  service  and  sacrifice . They  can  be  treated  as  twelve  techniques  to  give  up  our  wrong  tendencies  and    to  lead   a  life  based  on  sacrifice   and  service  for  others. .  The  first  two  yajnas,  that  of  deva   yajna  and  Brahma  yajna  were   discussed  in  yesterday's  page. . . When  talking  about  devas  ,  it  not  only  represents  the  various  gods  , our  limited  goals  ,  but  when  subjectively   viewed   are    our  five  sense  organs.  . The  eyes  that  see  color  and  form,  the  ears  that  hear  the  sound,  the  skin  that  of of  touch,  the  tongue  the  tastes, and   nose  that   enables  us  to  smell  , these  are  our  five  organs  of  perception  . . They  act  as  windows  to  the   outside  world. ,
                                 The  great  masters   understood   by   perception   that  it  is  actually   a  world  of  sense  objects   continuously  offering  themselves  into  the  fire  of  perception  in  order  to  invoke  the  devas ( the  sense  perceptions.). . They  realised  the  powers  of  sense  perceptions  ,  so  they  developed  a  sense  of   detachment    to  the  sense  experience  to  maintain  inner  peace  and  tranquility. . Regarding  Brahma  yajna  ,  the  masters  understood   that  sense  organs  are  only  instruments  of  our  perception  . They  cannot  work  independently  on  their  own.  . Brahman    is  the  enlivener   of  all  our  sense  perceptions. .. So  the  masters  understood  that   living  a  life  of   serving  others   made  them  free   their  attachments   to  their  possessions. 

                                The  third  yajna   and  the  fourth  are  now  being  explained. . Some  offer  hearing  and  other  senses  as   sacrifice  in  the  fire  of  restraint,  others  offer  sound   and  other  sense  objects   as  sacrifice  in  the  fire  of  the  senses. . The  senses  are  offered   into  the  fire  of self control  so  that   the  senses  get  burnt  up   and  thus  give  more  freedom   and  joy  in  the  inner  life  of  man. . By  self- control  alone   can  the  senses organs  be  fully  controlled   and  mastered. . The  third  yajna  is  the  path  of  sense  control  , while  the  fourth  is  control  of  the  mind. . The  mind  must  be  made  non- receptive   to  the  perceptions   of  the  sense  organs. , wherein  the  mind  totally  withdraws  itself  from   all  sense  perceptions.  .  

to  be  continued.........



No comments:

Post a Comment