Tuesday, 24 July 2012

the types of karma


Practical  steps   to  spirituality-  section  4  -part  32

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  48

  Chapter  4 

                             Lord  Krishna   goes  on  to  explain  what  are  actions   and   inactions  all  about. .  Life  is  a  series  of  experiences    filled  with  activity  and  inactivity. . Activity  can  be  divided  into   karma  and  vikarma.. .  Karma     are  actions  to  be  done  and  vikarma  are  the  actions   that  should    be  avoided. . Actions  to  be  done  are  of  three  types  such  as   nitya,  naimittika  and   kamya  karma. .  Activities  that  contributes  to   the  individual '  s  spiritual  evolution  are  called  karma. .  .

                            Nitya  karma   are  those  duties  done  on  a    regular basis    for  oneself,   and  for  the  family. . These  are  the  obligatory  duties  one  does  everyday  . . Taking  care  of  the  family  members  and  provide  them  food,  shelter  and  clothing  , education  to  children  , taking  care  of  aged  parents  and so  on  will  fall  under  nitya  karma. . The  naimittika  karma  are  those  activities  done  on  special occasions   like   rendering  help  to  earthquake  victims  or  some  such  emergencies. . . During  India's  struggle  for  independence  men  and   women   left  their  homes  to  join  in  the movement.  for  independence.

                              The  definitions  of  nitya  and  naimittika   karmas  will  not  be  the  same  for  everyone  , as  this  will  depend  upon  each  person's  spiritual  growth. . For   Ramana  Maharishi  ,  Swami  Vivekananda,  Sankaracarya  ,  or  for  that  matter    for  Mother  Teresa    the  naimittika  karma  which  is  a  special  duty  had  become  their  nitya  duty. - regular  duty.  . All  of  them  left  their  homes  in  search  of  truth   and  found  the  Truth ,  that  it  lies   in  expanding   themselves  to  include  the  whole  of  creation  as  a  part  of  themselves. . For  them  the  whole  world  belonged  to  them  and  serving  them  every   minute  of  their  life  became   their   regular  duty  . 

                            So  the  distinction  between  regular  and  special  karmas  apply  only  to  us  ordinary  mortals.   But  then,   we  too  can  start  doing  something  for  others  everyday  in  at least   in  a  small  way.  to  begin  with.   We  too can  do  it  ,  if  there  is  the  will   to  serve  others  .  why  not start   today?

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment