Thursday, 16 August 2012

shraddha- faith continued..


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  -  part  53  

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  69  

Chapter  - 4  

                       We  are  seeing  the  four  aspects  of  faith  - namely-  faith  in the  teacher , the   faith in  the   Reality  ,  the  faith  in  the  scriptures   and  faith  in  oneself. . .  Faith  in  the  validity  of  the  scriptures  as   the  means  of  knowledge  .  is  the  third  aspect  of  faith. . . Vedanta  accepts  four  instruments  of  knowledge  .  and  they  are:  1.   direct  perception  through  the  five  sense  organs  - the  ears, the eyes, the  nostrils,  the  skin  and  tongue.  . These  can  give  only  a  knowledge  of  the  world.  2. inference  as  in  the  case  of   inferring  fire  from  smoke  . You   can  infer   from  your  knowledge  and  experience  that   an  extroverted  life  of  indulgence  will  cause  you  mental  agitations  and  sorrow. . 3. analogy  -  an  unknown  object  is  made  known   by  comparing  it  with  something  known  to  you. . The  waking  state  is  compared  to  the  dream  state  which  disappears  upon  waking  and  our  scriptures  point  out  that  upon  waking  up  to  the  fourth  state  , this  waking  world  will  disappear. 

                     The  vedas  are  accepted  as  an  instrument  , a  pramana,  of  knowledge. . Nothing  in  the  terrestrial  or  the  transcendental  can   describe  the  Ultimate  Reality  . The  first  three  pramanas  fail  to   describe  the  reality . . So  one  comes  to  depend  upon  the   words  of   the  Vedas   as  a  valid  source  of  knowledge  to  help  one  to  realize  the  Self. . The  faith  talked  about  here  is  not  blind  belief.   Just  because  the   Vedas  have  declared  the  truth  that "  I  am  Brahman '  it  does  not  become  the  truth  for  me  ,  unless  and  until      by  logical  analysis  I  enquire   into  this  and  finally  come  to  directly  experience   subjectively  this  Truth  .  and  then  I  declare  I am  Brahman  . 

                     The  fourth  aspect  of  faith  is  faith  in  oneself.  to  comprehend  the  teachings  of  the  Vedas  through  the  guru's  words  . The  disciple  must  be  an  adhikari ,  a  qualified  student  ,  with  four  fold  qualifications  called  - sadhana  catustaya  sampatti. .. The  four  fold  qualifications  can  be  easily  remmenbered  as  four D's  -  Dispassion  -  vairagya,  Discrimination-  viveka,  ,  Disciplines -  six  disciplines  called  as  samadi satka  sampatti  and  Desire  for  liberation. (  these  four  D's  will  be  discussed  in  detail  in  the  coming  pages. )

                     So   a   seeker,  with  these  four  aspects  of  faith  ,  will  definitely   realize  the  Truth  in  good  time   Lord  Krishna  says. 

to  be  continued.......    

No comments:

Post a Comment