Tuesday, 7 August 2012

the three karmas


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  - part  43 

Shrimad  Bhagawad  Gita  -  part  59 

Chapter  4  

                             All  actions   produce  their  corresponding  results. . These  reactions  mature  at  different  periods  of  time   depending  upon  the  quality  and  intensity  of  the  actions. . We  have  been  acting   in  our  different  manifestations   with  ego -centric  vanity   and  individuality. . All  these  actions   produce   results  which   cannot  produce  their  results  in  the  same  lifetime and  so  are  carried  over  to  future  incarnations . .. Hence  the  belief  in  the  theory  of  reincarnation.

                           The  karmas  are  classified   as  sanchita,  prarabda  and  agami. . Sanchita  karmas  are  those  that   are  not  yet  operative  - which  have  not  opened  their  accounts   yet. . We  can  equate  the  three  karmas  to  three  different  bags  and  sanchita  bag  is  the  one  not  yet  opened. . They  are  the  collective  karmas  from  many  lives,  janmas, . Then  comes  the  prarabda  karmas  , the  bag  that  is  opened  in  this  lifetime   and  refers  to  the  results  one  faces  in  this  very  life. , which  are  operative  now. , which  have  stared   giving their    fruits.  and  which  one  has  to  exhaust  in  this  very  lifetime. .. Whatever   results  of  actions    that  will  accrue in  the  future   falls  under  the  third  bag  , the  agami  karma. ,  this  third  bag  will  open  its  acount  in  some  future  lives. .

                       Lord  Krishna  says  that  by  the  raft  of  knowledge  all  the  karmas  are  burnt   and  it  means  that  only  the  sanchita  , which  is  not  yet  operative, and  the  agami  , which  is  also  not  operative  in  this  present  life   are  indeed  burnt  by  the  fire  of  knowledge. . The  prarabda  bag  which  is  already  operational  ,  has  to  be  gone  through  fully  in  this  life. . Even  a  self realized  person   has  to  undergo  his  prabda  karma  , the  effects  of  his  karmic  actions  which  have  already  started  giving  their  results   in  this  lifetime  and  he  continues  to  live  as  long  as  his  prarabda  lasts , when  finally  he  sheds  his  physical  frame. 

                     Vedanta  believes   that   only  through  the  path  of  knowledge,  the  jnana  yoga,  one  can  attain  self  realization. . So  when  with  this  fire  of  knowledge   the  self  realized  crosses  all  sins ,  he  puts  an  end  to  samsara,  the  cycle  of  birth  and  death.

to  be  continued......


  1. But, then what is the difference between Sanchita karma and the Agami karma? why have two of them, when both sound alike?

  2. Sanchita karma is the bags of karmas from many lifetimes out of which only a small bag has become operative in this janma , which is called prarabda karma. . The rest of the sanchita karma are all going to fructify only in future janmas. and these karmas have already been done in the past lives. While agami karmas are actions that one will be doing in the future whether in this life or in the future lives ,which will give its fruits only in future lives. A jnani who still continues to live as long as his prarabda lasts , will not be creating any new karmas ( no selfish or self centered activities , whatever he does he does only for loka sangraha ) so he becomes free from agami karmas . So knowldge burns up both sanchita and agami karmas. . It is important to note here that we reap what we sow either in this very life or in some future lives. . We must take charge of our life and become selfless in all our actions. That is the aim of Vedanta.
    I hope i have cleared your doubts. thanks for raising a very important question Madhavi.