Tuesday, 7 August 2012

worship of the lord with eight forms


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  - part 44  

Shrimad  Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  60  

 Chapter  4  

                                This  chapter  emphasizes  the   importance  of  following  the  path  of  knowledge. . There  exists  nothing   more  noble  and  sacred  than   self  knowledge. . One  gains  the  knowledge  of  the  self   when  one  sincerely  practices  the  twelve  yajnas  discussed  earlier  in  these  pages. . Lord  Krishna  says  one  has  to  first   purify  himself  and  then  the  seeker  will  realize  the  Self  in  good  time ( kalena ). Now  the  question  arises  as  to  how  does one  purify  his  mind? .  A student  of  Vedanta  , may  be   able  to  understand   in  theory  that  his  real  nature  is  Divine  , but  while  facing  real  life  situations  , he  gets  lost  in  his  negative  tendencies  . So  scriptures  prescribe  certain  spiritual  practices  (  sadhanas )  to  clear  our  heart  of  the  negative  tendencies  of  anger, haterd  desire,  jealousy  , greed  and  so on.  so  that  the  mind  remains  pure.

                        One  of  the  first  disciplines,   scriptures  prescribe  is  worship  of  the  Lord  in  the  form  you   like  best. . To  begin  with  one  worships  one's  ishta  devata  ( lord  of  one's  liking ) . and  go  through  doing  the  puja  ( worship) of  the  lord  by  simply  chanting  His  1008 names  or  follow  the  full  ritualistic  form  of  worship  in  detail. .. The main  purpose  of   the  daily  worship  of  the  Lord  establishes  the  devotee's personal  relationship  with  the  Lord  , it  increases  his  devotion  and  concentration  which  in  turn  results  in  his  mental  purification. 

                         It  is  necessary    that  he  does  not  get  stagnated  here  in  just  worshipping  an  idol , which  only  represents  the  Absolute . . Ramana  Maharishi  says  that  seeing  the  world  with  an  attitude  of  serving  the  Lord  is  the  true  worship  of  the  Lord  with  eight  forms. . The  Lord  can  be  contemplated  upon  as  being  endowed  with  eight  forms  such  as  : the  five  elements  (  space,  air  , fire  water  and  earth ) , the  sun  (  representing  all  luminaries )  ,  the  moon  (   signifying  all  planets  ,  satellites and  so  on )  and  the  eighth  being  the  jiva,  the  limited  individual  ,  standing  for  all  conscious  beings  . Thus  these   eight  aspects   of  the  Lord   actually  constitute  the  whole  of  creation . So   the  seeker  must  learn  to   look  at  this  universe  as  the  Lord  Himself  and  serving  the  world  is   the  most  exalted  worship  of  the  Lord. . To  a  mature  devotee  , the  whole  universe   becomes  a  vast  temple. . The  attitude  of  work  as  worship  is  what is  glorified  in  Vedanta   as  Karma-  Yoga, which   literally  means   ' union   through   action. "

                        All  this  amounts  to  saying  just  that  learn  to  respect  and  love  all  of  God's creations  and  this  in  due  course  of  time  will  purify  your  mind. We  shall  take  up  a  few  other  spiritual  practices  to  purify  the  mind  in the  coming  pages.

                  to  be  continued......    


No comments:

Post a Comment