Sunday, 16 September 2012

the higher and lower nature


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  4  part  79 

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  95 

Chapter  7  

                               Lord  Krishna   goes  on  to  say  that  the  five  great  elements  -space,  air,   fire  water  and  earth,   the   mind   the    intellect  and   the  ego  are  the  eightfold    prakriti  ,  matter . . Krishna  says  the  Self  comes  to  express  Itself   as  the  world  of  plurality. . The  five  great  elements,  mind,  intellect  and  ego   are  the  eightfold  matter   that  is  superimposed   upon  Purusha  -the  Truth,  because  of  the  ignorance  of  the  Self. . The  five  elements  are  represented  in  the  microcosm   by  the  five  sense  organs  , which  are  the  windows  through  which  the  individual   experiences  the  external  world  of  objects  and  beings. 

                             The   impulses    from  the  sense  objects   such  as  color and form  ,  sound,  touch,  taste  and  smell  ,  reach  the  mind  and  intellect   where  a  reaction  takes  place.  The  inputs  , the  stimuli  from  the  external  world  of  sense  objects  .  are  assimilated   in  the  mind  and  intellect   and   there  is  the  sense  of  I  ness   called  the  ego  . . So  through  these  eightfold  equipments   an  individual  at  the   microcosm  level  functions. . This  is  his  lower  nature  . His  higher  nature   is  the  Pure  Consciousness  or  Pure  Awareness. 

                            It  is  because  of   the  presence  of  this  Pure  Consciousness  that  the  eightfold  prakriti   functions  . It  is  the  Pure  Consciousness  that  enlivens   the   matter  equipments    due  to  which  alone  the   eye  gets  the  power  to  see  , the  ears  the  power  to  hear   , the  mind  to  feel,  the  intellect  to  think,  and  the  ego  to  believe  it  is  the  doer  and  enjoyer  of  all  actions. . It  is  the  Pure  Consciousness  that  sustains  the  jagat  . By  jagat  is  meant   not  only  the  world  perceived  by  one's  senses   but  it  includes  the  world  of  feelings,    the  world  of  ideas  that  we  experience. So  the  Lord  sustains  all  these  worlds  . 

to  be  continued.........

No comments:

Post a Comment