Monday, 29 October 2012

the four instruments of the Lord


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part  -10

Shrimad  Bhagawad  Gita  -part  126 

Chapter  11  

                        So  far  Arjuna  has  been   chanting  the  glories  of  the  Lord  in  His  transcendental  form  . . " You  are  the  primal  God, the  Ancient  Purusha  ,  You  are  the  Supreme  refuge  of  this  universe  . You  are  the  knower  , the  knowable   and  the  Abode -   Supreme.  By  Thee  is  this  Universe  pervaded,  O  Being  of  infinite  forms. "  Having  said  that  Arjuna  asks  the  Lord  to  forgive  him,   for  he  has  been  treating  Him  like  a  friend  ,  as  an  ordinary  mortal  . Arjuna  now  prays  to  the  Lord  to  resume  His  usual  form  and  give  up  the  terrifying   transcendental  form .

                     Arjuna  wishes  to  see  the  Lord,  as  before,   crowned  bearing     a  club  a   mace  a  discus  and a  lotus    in  His  four  arms  . . The  four  arms  of  the  Lord  represent  the  four  facets  of  the  inner  instruments  of  each  human  being  namely  the  antah-karana   consisting  of   the  mind, intellect,  memory  and  ego. . The  Lord  appears  in  blue  and  is  clothed  in  yellow. . Blue  is  the  color  of  the  infinite   and  yellow  that  of  the  earth. . So  Krishna  ,the  Infinite  represented    as  blue  , clothed  in  yellow  ,the  finite  , who  has  come  down  in  human  form  , is  playing  the  game  of  life  with  the  four  instruments  . This  concept  represents  Lord  Vishnu. 

                   The  Lord  is  believed   to  be  having  four  instruments  in    His  hands  . which  are  symbolical  thus : the  club, the  discus, the  conch   and  the  lotus. . The  call  of  the  Divine  comes  through  the  conch  to  every  individual  seeker  at  some  point  of  time  in  his  life . If  he  fails  to  pay  heed  to  this  Divine  call  ,  the  call  of  the  Higher  to  follow  higher  ideals  in  life  ,  then  the  Lord's  club  punches  him  to  listen  to  the  call..  If  he  still  does  not  listen  to  this   but  goes  on  with  his  lower  kind  of  existence   and  continues  to  commit  mistakes  in  his  life  then  the  Lord's  discus  chops  him  down . . If  the  seeker  has  listened  to  the  first  call  of  the  conch  ,  he  then  gains  the  lotus  flower   which  represents  peace  and  tranquility  . This  is  the  peaceful  and  tranquil  form  of  the  Lord  that  Arjuna  wants  to  see  now.

to  be  continued.....


No comments:

Post a Comment