Sunday, 16 December 2012

the three yogas


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part  38

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -part  154

Chapter  14.

                       Lord  Krishna  says  "  when  the  seer  perceives  no  other  agent  than  the  gunas  and  knows  the  Higher  beyond  the  gunas  ,  he  attains  My  being. "  . "  And  he  who  serves  Me  with  unswerving  yoga  of  devotion  ,  he  having  duly  crossed  the  gunas  is  fit  for  becoming  Brahman  "  So  in  these  two  verses  we  have  all  the  three  yogas    being  referred  to  . When  the  Lord  says  that  the  seer  sees   and  knows  the  Higher  beyond  the  gunas,  this  refers  to  jnana  yoga.,  the  path  of  knowledge. . When  the  Lord  says  he  who  serves  Me   with  unswerving  devotion   ,it  refers  to  bhakti  yoga ,  the  path  of  devotion   and  karma  yoga  , the  path  of  selfless  action. . . These  three  yogas  are  spiritual  practices  to  cross  the  gunas  . So  by  following  these  three  paths  the  seeker  becomes  fit  for  becoming  /  realizing  Brahman.

                The  Lord  concludes  the  chapter  by  saying   '  I  am  the  abode  of  Brahman  ,  immortal,  immutable  and  eternal   dharma and  absolute  bliss  .  He  establishes  the  identity  between  Himself  and  the  Supreme  Brahman  . The  Self  is  described  as immutable,  changeless  , eternal,  supreme and  permanent  . In  the  state  of  Self  -realization   you  transcend  desires   and  thoughts   and  remain  peaceful  and  happy. . This  is  the  state  of  absolute  bliss  . The  seeker  is  fit   for   becoming    Brahman. .  To  realize  one's  true  Self  is  to  realize  that  he  is  none  other  than  Brahman. . To  realize  the  waker  is  to  become  the  waker  ,  similarly  to  realize    Brahman  is  to  become  Brahman  .

              The  Supreme  has  been  described  as  Immortal.  It  does  not  go  through  birth  and  death   . Death  and  birth  are  phenomenon  related  only  to  the  physical  body. . The  Self  is  Immutable,  changeless  . Changes  occur  only  to  the  body,  mind  intellect . The  Self  is  the  changeless  substratum  upon  which  these  changes  occur. . The  Self  is  the  Eternal  being  ,  the  world  is  just  a fleeting  superimposition  on  Brahman. . The  Self  is  Absolute  Bliss   and  all  other  joys  and  happiness  derived  from  the  material  world  are  ephemeral. 

to  be  continued.....


No comments:

Post a Comment