Friday, 18 January 2013

the four karmas


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part  52

Shrimad   Bhagawad  Gita  part  168

Chapter  17  

                       Lord  Krishna  deals  with  three  types  of  yajna  ,  sacrifices  that  the  three  classes  of  men  would   be  engaged in    doing  . . The  sacrifice  that  is  offered   without  desire  for  fruits   and  is  enjoined  in  the  scriptures  ,  done  with a  firm  faith ,   that  sacrifice  is  sattvic  or  pure. The  sattvic  does  not  worry  about  the  fruits  of  actions  ,  he  has  no  anxiety  over  the  fruits  of  his  actions. . Actions  that  are  being  done  can  be  classified  into  four  types. . They  are  desire  ridden  actions  -  kamya  karmas  , and    forbidden  actions  -  nishiddha  karmas  . These  two  are  definitely   to  be  avoided  .. The  other  two  types  of  actions  are  nitya  -daily  karmas  and  naimittika    special  karmas. . These  two  are  called  obligatory  duties.  which    definitely    are  to  be  done.

                   Nitya    karmas   are  like  doing  daily  puja,  going  to  office , or  college  and  such  other  activities  done  in a  routine  manner. . Naimittika  karmas  are  special  duties  done  on  special  days  or  occasions.  Nitya  duties  are  like  taking  care  of  old age  parents   while  naimittika  duties  will  be  like  leaving  even  your  old  age  parents  for  a  higher   cause  or  in  pursuit  of   the  highest  goal  that  of  realising  yourself. . During  the  independence  movement  hundreds  and  thousands  of  women  and  men  left  their  families  behind  to  join  the  movement.  and  did  not  hesitate to  be  jailed. .

                Nitya  and  naimittika  karmas  are  only  relative  terms  . . What  is  a  special  or  occasional  duty  could  become  a  nitya  karma  for  someone  else. when  he  grows  spiritually. . Sacrifice  is  considered  as  a  nitya  karma  for  the  sattvic  . He  is  happy  doing  sacrificial  (  yajnas  )  actions   for  the  welfare  of  mankind. . In  contrast  to  this  is  rajasic    yajna  , wherein  the   sacrifice  is  offered   seeking  the  fruits  of  the  yajna  (  kamya  karma  )   and  is  often  done  to  show  off  one's money  power .  The tamasic  yajna  is  that  wherein  no  food  is  distributed  ,  no  mantras  are  chanted   and  there  is  no  faith  involved  in  the  performance  of  the  yajna  .
to  be  continued........

No comments:

Post a Comment