Saturday, 12 January 2013

the three typess of worshipers


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5 part 49

Shrimad  Bhagawad   Gita  part  165

Chapter  15  

                      The  individual's  personality  gets  expressed   by  the  type  of  faith  he  has. . The  sattvic  worship  the  gods  (  devas) ,  the  rajasic  worship  the  yakshas  and  rakshasas  ,  and  the  tamasic  worship  the  ghosts   (  pretas  )  and  spirits . The  sattvic  who    believe  in  a  higher  power   worship  God  in  one  form  or  the  other. ,  they  seek  the  nobler  qualities  of  the  Divine.  and  hence  worship  the  Divine. . The    rajasic  are  extremely  restless  persons   and  they  are  always  into  some  form  of  action or  the  other   and  so  they  worship  demi-gods  . The  tamasic  who  are  men  of  inactivity   pray  to  ghosts   and  spirits  to  get  their  lower  desires  fulfilled. 

                     Do  demi gods  really  exist   is  a  question  that  can  be  raised  . The  yakshas  are  believed  to  be   the  brothers   of  Kubera , the   minister  in charge  of  finance  in  heaven    and  the  rakshasas  are  beings  with  power  and  strength  . So  it  is  natural  to  assume  that  those  with  rajasic  qualities   would   be  worshiping   the  yakshas   and  rakshasas    to  get  wealth  power  and  strength  . The  tamasic  are  low men  with  criminal  intentions    and  so  it  is  natural  that  they  seek   to  get  the  powers  of  ghosts  and  spirits  . So  from  a man's  field  of  activity    we  can  guess   as  to  which  category    he  belongs. 

                  The  people  of  demoniacal  nature  would   be  practicing   terrible  austerities   not  given  sanction  to  in  the  scriptures  ,  to  get  their  lustful  desires  fulfilled  ."  They    torture  their  bodies   and  Me   who  dwells    within  the  body  "  says  Lord  Krishna  .

to  be  continued....  be

No comments:

Post a Comment