Wednesday, 9 January 2013

three types of shraddha


Practical   steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part  -48

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  -  part  164

Chapter  17

                               The  Lord  says  shraddha  is  of  three  kinds   according  to  the  nature  of  the  three  gunas  -sattva  ,  rajas  and  tamas. . So  shraddha  in  the  physical  indulgences  (  aahara  -  food  )  ,  in  dedicated  activities (  yajna  )   in  self  denials  ( tapas  )  and    charities  (  dana  ).  are  being  explained  by  the  Lord. . The  term  yajna  meaning  sacrifices   does  not  merely  refer  to  the  Vedic  sacrifices  and  rituals  . . So  yajna  is  not  to  be  understood   in  its  narrow  connotation  . We  have  seen  in  earlier  pages  that  yajna  denoted  all  activities  done  in  selfless  dedication  for  the  good  of  all. .  All  actions  done  in a  selfless  manner   are  termed  as  yajna  . . Arjuna  wants  to  know   whether  such  selfless  actions  fall   under  sattva,  or  rajas  or  tamas  . 

                               Another  important  factor  to  be  noted  here  is  Arjuna  wanted  to  know  if    someone  followed    the   goals  with  shraddha     but  which  were  against  sastric  injunction  ,  what  was  their  state  ?   The  point  to  be  noted  here  is  that  our  Hindu  scriptures  were     written  in  sanskrit  which  many  do  not  know  and  even  if  the  language  is  understood  ,  it  is  to  be  understood  correctly  . And  the  sastras    are  not  available    for  all  ,  and  even  if  available  are  not  understood  by  all.  So    how  can  one  performing  any  action   even  when   done  with  shraddha  know  if   that  action  was    according  to  sastric  commands  ?   So  the  need  for  a  competent  guru  who  would  guide  the  seeker  in  the  right  direction.

                    The  question  from  Arjuna  that  what  happens  to  those  actions  done  with  shraddha  ,  are  they  sattvic,  rajasic  or  tamasic  ?   A  sincere  seeker  might  have  a  complete  faith  in  the  higher  values  of  life    and   might  be  following  them  in  his  life  . What  happens  to  the  yajna  he  performs  , are  they  sattvic,  rajasic  or  tamasic  ?   The  Lord  says  three  fold  is  the  faith  of  the  embodied   which  is  inherent  in  their  nature  - the  sattvic(  pure )  ,  the  rajasic  (  the  passionate)  and   the  tamasic  (  dull  )     and  how   the  individual's  personality  gets  expressed   depends  on  the  type  of    shraddha  he  has.   and  the  individual's  nature  determines  the  nature  of  his  faith.    and  whatever  faith  he  has  also  determines  his  personality. 

 to  be  continued..... 

No comments:

Post a Comment