Sunday, 20 January 2013

three types of tapas


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part 53

Shrimad   Bhagawad  Gita  part  169

Chapter  17

                               Tapas  is  taken  up  for  discussion  now  by  the  Lord.  "  Worship  of the  gods  ,  the  twiceborn  , the  teachers   and  the  wise  ,  purity  ,straight forwardness  ,  celibacy  and  non- injury  ,these  are  called  the  austerity  of  the  body. "  . Worship  is  an  attitude   wherein  one  develops  an  identification  of  himself  with  a  higher  ideal   or  God. . The  twiceborn  ,  dwija,  indicates   the  brahmins. . The  term  brahmins   means  one  who   has  realized  the  Self. . Brahmins  does  not  denote   here  one  of  the  castes  by  birth. It  is  very  clear  that  no  body  can  be  a  brahmin  just  because  he  is  born  to  brahmin   parents.   To  be  born  out  of  your  mother's  womb  is  your  first  birth   but  to  qualify  yourself  as  a  superior  human  being  ,  you  must  come  out  of  the  limitations  of  your  body  ,mind  and  intellect   to  know  your  real  nature  . Knowing  your  real  nature   will  be  your  second  birth  .  A  constant  contemplation  of   the  Supreme  Brahman  is  called  Brahmacharya  . Following   mental  disciplines  and  keeping  away  from  physical  indulgences   fall  under  Brahmacharya  .  Non -injury  to  others  is  refraining  from  hurting  others.

                       Tapas  is  just  not  a  life of   self  denial  but  it  is  more  than  that  . It  is  actually  an  intelligent  way  of  living  by  maintaining  the  correct  relationship  with  the  world  of  objects  and  beings.  and  in  this  process  one  does  not  waste  his  energies ,  he  rather  uses    the  preserved  energies  for  productive  and  creative  purposes  . This  is  the  true  meaning  of  tapas. . He  denies  to  himself  certain  pleasures  cheerfully  and  voluntarily   accepts  certain  discomforts  . This  helps  in  developing  a  strong  will  power  and   fortitude  ,  titiksha,   , and  developing  these  two  qualities  are  important  for  the  spiritual  growth. . The  sattvika  tapas  covers  austerities  of  speech,  body  and  mind. and .the  sattvika   practices   the  austerities  with  the  utmost  shraddha   to  pursue  and  attain  Enlightenment. . The  austerity  practiced   with  the  object  of  gaining  name,  fame  ,power  and  money  fall  under  rajasic  tapas. . The  austerity  followed  with  foolish  notion ,  torturing  oneself  or  aiming  to  destroy  another  is   called  tamasika  tapas.

to  be  continued.....



No comments:

Post a Comment