Saturday, 16 February 2013

knowledg, action , actor and intellect


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part  63

Shrimad   Bhagawad  Gita  -part  179 

Chapter  18  

                              Knowledge,  known,  knower   are  the  three fold  impulses  to  action. ,  while  instrument  ,  action  and  actor   are  the  three fold   constituents   of  action. . Knowledge,  known  and  knower   are  said  to  be  three  fold  according  to  the  distinction  in  the  three  gunas. . That  knowledge  that  sees  unity  in  the  midst  of  diversity   is  sattvic  knowledge,  that  which  sees   only  diversity     in the  unity  is  rajasic  knowledge,  and  that  which  sees  a  part  as  the  whole  is  tamasic  knowledge  . 

                             An  action  that  is  done   without  attachment  ,  free  from  likes  and  dislikes  ,  without   anxiety  for  the  fruits  of  action  is  called  sattvic  action,  , when  an  action  is  done  with  the  expectation  of  the  fruits  ,then  it  is  called  rajasic  and    an  action  done  out  of  delusion  , regardless  of  its  consequences  is  called  tamasic  action. . Now  the  three  types  of  actor  are  being  explained  . . An  actor  free  from   attachment,   and  egoistic  feelings   but   does   with  full  enthusiasm   and  firmness  is  said  to  be  sattvic.  An  actor  who  is  passionate,    desirous  of  the  results   and  is  greedy  , he  is  called  a  rajasic  actor.  and  one  who  is  stubborn  ,  vulgar   and  has  no  steadfastness  is  said  to  be  tamasic.  actor

                    Now  the  definition  of  the  three  types  of  intellect  according  to  the  three  gunas  is  getting  explained. . That  intellect  which  knows  what  ought  to  be  done  and  what  is  not  to  be  done   and  the  intellect  that  knows  the  difference  between  fear  and  fearlessness,  between   bondage  and  liberation  ,  between   renunciation  and  activity  ,  such  an  intellect  is  called  sattvic  intellect  .  While  rajasic  intellect  is  that   which  understands  wrongly  what  ought    to  be done   and  what  ought  not   to  be  done   is  called  rajasic  intellect  and  that  intellect  which    regards unrighteousness  as  righteousness  ,  vice  as  virtue  and   it  is  covered  by  ignorance   is  called  tamasic  intellect.  .

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment