Monday, 18 February 2013

steadfastness and happiness


. Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section  5  part 64

Shrimad   Bhagawad   Gita  part  180  

 Chapter  18

                           The  three  types  of  steadfastness  (  dhriti  )  and  happiness  (  sukham) are  being  explained  by  the   Lord.   Sattvika   steadfastness   is  the   unswerving   steadfastness  with  which  one  maintains  the  highest  goal  of  Self- Realization. .  Rajasic  steadfastness  is  that   where  one  clings  to  duty  ,pleasure and  wealth.  and  one  is  attached  to  the  fruits  of  action. . The  tamasic  steadfastness  is  that   where  the  tamasic  person  just  daydreams   and  is  arrogant   and  is  always  in  grief  .

                           The  three  fold  happiness   according  to  the  three  gunas:  . What  is  like  poison  in the  beginning   but  ends  up  as  nectar  in the  end  , that  happiness  is  called  sattvic  happiness. . It  is  difficult  to  start  doing   physical  exercises   and  in the  beginning  stages  it  looks  like  poison  but  later  on  the  exercises  begin  to  yield  the  result  of  good  health   and  hence  like  nectar. in the  end.  . Rajasic  happiness  is  that  which  is  like  nectar  in the  beginning  but  later  on  it  will  turn  into a  poison  . The  happiness  that  one  experiences  from  sense  contact  is  like  nectar  in the  beginning  but  later  on  they  turn  into  poison  because  one  ends  up  in  sorrow  by  indulging  in sense  pleasures. . The  happiness  that  is  got  from  sleep  ,  indolence  ,heedlessness    is  tamasic  happiness  and  one  experiences  tamasic  happiness  through  the  ignorance  of  the  Self. 

                   Lord  Krishna  then  goes  on to  discuss  about  the  fourfold  caste  system .. The  fourfold  castes  are   brahmana,  kshatriya ,  vaishya  and  sudra  based  on  the  classification  of the  gunas  . The  brahmana  exhibits  such  characteristics   such  as  serenity,   self- restraint  , austerity  purity   forgiveness,  uprightness   also  knowledge   wisdom   and  faith  and  are  thus the  sttvic  qualities  of a  brahmana.   . The  kshatriya  exhibits  such  qualities  as  prowess,  splendor  steadfastness  dexterity,  not  running  away  from  the  battlefield  ,  charity  and  lordliness  . . Agriculture,  cattle rearing   trade  and  business   are  the  qualities  exhibited  by  the  vaishyas  and    service  and  labour   are  the  main  characteristic   nature  of  a  sudra  .  So  the  emphasis  is  on  pursuing  one's  occupation  according  to  one's  inherent  gunas,  nature.or  swadharma. 

to  be  continued....

No comments:

Post a Comment