Wednesday, 20 February 2013

the 12 divine values


Practical  steps  to spirituality-  section 5  part 66 

Shrimad  Bhagawad  gita  part  181

Chapter  18  

                                 The  fourfold  caste system  was  explained  by the  Lord. and  the  emphasis  was  on  taking  up  a  profession  based  on  one's  inherent  tendencies  (  vasanas ). . It  is  better  to  do  one's  own  duty   even  if  not  done  perfectly  well  , and  even  if  that  is  not  glamorous  and  great.  than  to  do  someone  else's duty . Doing  actions  according  to  one's  own  swadharma  , one  does  not  incur  any  sin. , the  paradharma  is  filled  with  anxiety  and  evil. . The  Lord  says  it  would  be  better  to  even  die  doing  one's  swadharma  , rather  than  take  up  paradharma. . The  Lord  declares    all  desires  as  evil   and  there  can  be  no  action  without  desires  motivating  one  to  do  actions. . So  all  actions  are  seen  as  evil. . By  performing  good  actions  ,one   gradually  exhausts  one's desires  . Hence  the  Lord  asks  Arjuna  to  fight  this  war   as  he  is  a  kshatriya   and  dedicate   his  action  to  the  Supreme  , thereby  remove  desires   and  reach  perfection  . One  is  then  said  to  reach  the  state  of  vasanalessness  ,  desirelessness  and  actionlessness. 

                         The  Lord  goes  on  to  enumerate  12  Divine  values   for  each  spiritual  seeker   to  help   attune  himself  to  the  Divine. . Endued  with   a  pure  intellect  , having  controlled   the  Self  through  firmness,  relinquished   sound  and  other  sense  objects  ,  renounced  both  love  and  hatred  ,  the  seeker  practices  self-control  at  the  physical  level  as  well  . He  has   abandoned  likes  and  dislikes  , he  works  through  the  intellect  and  not  the  mind   and  lives  in  solitude  , eats  but  very  little  ,  speech, mind  and  body  controlled  , ever  engaged  in  yoga  of  meditation  ,  he  is  endued  with  dispassion  , freed  from  egoism  , power  , arrogance  ,desire ,anger  ,  covetousness  ,  mineness  ,  he  remains  peaceful  and  becomes  fit   for ' becoming  Brahman  '. . These  12  divine  qualities  help  the  seeker   to  reach  the  state  of  Self  Realization. 

                       'Becoming  Brahman'  is  not  actually  becoming  ,  the  phrase  means  that  one  comes  to  understand  oneself  as  Brahman. . Our  true  nature  is  Sat-Chit  -Ananda  swarupa  Brahman. , due  to  ignorance  I identify  myself  with  my  body, mind  intellect  material  equipments  and  forget  as  to  who  I  am.. When  with  the  help  of  a  guru  ,I  come  to  understand  myself  as  none  other  than  that  Supreme  , it  is  then  said  I ' become  Brahman  '

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment