Saturday, 23 March 2013

viveka- differentiation


Practical  steps  to spirituality-  section  5 part 79 

Answers  to  important  questions  raised  in  Vedanta  .

                              What  are  the  fourfold  qualifications  required  by a  seeker  to  become an adhikari ?

                                The  fourfold  qualifications  are  called  sadhana  catustaya  . ,which  are  needed  for spiritual  seeker   to  become  an  adhikari  . . He  needs  the  four  D- S' . 1. viveka  - Differentiation,  2. vairagya  -Dispassion  ,  3,  samadhi  satka  sampatti  - the  six  Disciplines   and  mumukshatvam  - Desire  for  liberation. . Let  us  take  up  viveka  for  today's  study. 

                            Viveka  is  the  faculty  of  the  intellect  given  to  all  of  us  ,though  most  of  us  hardly  make  use of  it. . We  do  differentiate  between  pleasure  and  pain,  joy  and  sorrow  ,  between  honour  and  dishonour  ,  noble  and  ignoble  and  so  on. . The  power  of  discrimination  or  differentiation  we  are  talking  about  in  Vedanta  is  differentiating  between  the  permanent  and  ephemeral  . Viveka  lies   in  understanding  that  Brahman  alone  is  real   and  permanent   and  everything  else  is  ephemeral, unreal and temporary  . The  ability  to  distinguish  the permanent  from  the  impermanent  is  called  "  nitya- anitya  - vastu -  viveka 

                    Animals  are  preprogrammed   to  act  according  to  their  instincts   and  hence  they  are  not  blessed  by  viveka   to  differentiate  between  the  good  and  bad. . It  is  only  humans  that  are  blessed  with  the  wonderful  capacity  to  distinguish  between  right and  wrong  , between  the  permanent  and  impermanent. . The  world  and  everything in  it  has  a  beginning  and  an  end  . Our  body,  mind  and  intellect  too  have  an  end  . Change  is  the  only  changeless  factor  everywhere.  and  change  needs  a  changeless  substratum   Brahman  is  the  changeless  factor  upon  which  all  changes   takes  place. . Brahman  alone  is  permanent  and   all  else  is  impermanent. . This  understanding  is  called   viveka  in  Vedanta. . Viveka-  Differentiation    becomes  the  first  step  , the  basis  for  developing  the  other  three  qualifications    namely  .Dispassion  ,    the   six Disciplines  and    the  Desire  for liberation.

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment