Thursday, 25 April 2013

explanations for the nine steps continues....


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section 5 part  88

Answers  to questions  raised in  Vedanta  

                          Who  is a  jivan  mukta  ?   . We  have  seen  in the last  paper  that   direct  Experience  of  the  Truth/ Self  is  very  important . It  is  also   not  enough  if   the  seeker  has  experienced  the  Truth  once,  but  it  is  very  very  essential  that   at  all  times  he  remains  established  in  this  awareness  of  his  identity  with  the  Absolute. . This  is  called  Brahmatmana  samstiti. . The  Realised  Master  has  to  remain  established  in  this  knowledge  because  there  is  always  a  fear  that   he  may  fall  back  to  the  previous  stages. . He  must  be  consciously  aware  at  all  times   of  his   true  nature   and  abide  in this  knowledge  that   the  Self  in  him ,  the  Atman , is  the  Brahman  everywhere. . A person  who  has  reached  this  stage  is  called  a  jivan  mukta  ,  liberated  even  while  living  . He  is  also  called  a  gunatita  , shitha prajna , parama hamsa   and  so  on. In  this  liberated  stage  , he  cannot  be  disturbed  by  anything. 

                  What  is  videha  mukti  ?  One  who  has  reached  the  pinnacle  of  life is  liberated  from  the  cycle  of  birth  and  death.. The  final  liberation  from  the  body  is  called  videha  mukti  . . Even  after  becoming  a  jivan  mukta  , the  Realised  Master   continues  to  live  until  his  prarabdha  gets  fully  exhausted   and  he  drops  the  body  when  his  prarabdha  karma  gets  exhausted.  and   he  does  not  need  to  take  any new  embodiments   as   there  are  no  sanchita,  prarabdsha  or agami  karmas  . So  this  is   the  ninth and  final  step  in  the  steps  to  liberation. 

            At  the  end  of  the  enumeration  of  the  above  nine  steps  ,  Sankaracarya  says   that  this  liberation  cannot  be  had  without  the  earned  merits  of  a  hundred  crores of  lives  lived  intelligently  

to  be  continued.....



No comments:

Post a Comment