Friday, 12 April 2013

the nine steps to liberation


Practical  steps  to  spirituality-  section 5 part  85 

Answers  to questions  raised  in Vedanta  

                     What  is  the  road  map  to  perfection  ?  . Sankaracarya  answers    our  question  in  his  Vivekachudamani  . thus "  For  all  living  creatures  , a  human  birth  is  indeed  rare  ,  rarer  still  to  attain  manhood  , rarer  than  this   is  the  sattvic  attitude   to  life, , steadfastness  on the  path  of  dharma   prescribed  in the  vedas  is  rarer  still  , and  much  more rare  so  is  the  correct  understanding  of  the  deep  significance  of  the  Vedas  . Differentiation  between  the  Self  and  not- self  (  viveka  )    and   a  personal  experience   and ultimately  become  fully  established  in  the  knowledge  that  the  Atman  is  Brahman   these  come  later  on   and  culminate  in  Liberation  , which  cannot  be  had   without  the  earned  merits  of  a  hundred   crores  of  lives  lived  intelligently  "

                  The  following  is  the  list  of  nine  blessings  we  have  been  blessed  with   by  the  Lord   through  whose  Grace  only  one  ultimately  gets  liberated   from  samsara  . . The  term  'samsara ' comes  from the  root  'sar'  which  means  to  move  . That  which  moves  well  and  continuously   is  called  samsara. . The  world  is  continuously  moving  (  changing  )   and  that  which  is  changing  is  not  real,  is  not  the  Truth  . The  wise  ones  have  the  courage  to  transcend  this  ever changing  world  (  samsara  ) so  as  to  discover  the   Supreme  Truth.. Only  Self  knowledge  can  liberate  us  from  samsara- the  cycle  of  birth  and  death.

                The  nine  steps  to  liberation  are then   as  follows  : 1. human  birth  (  nara  janma  )  2. manhood  (  pumstvam  )  3. sattvic  attitude  (  viprata  )  4. steadfastness  in the  path  of  righteousness  as  prescribed  in the  Vedas  (  vaidika  dharma  marga  parata  )  5. correct  knowledge  of  the  deep  significances  of  the  Vedas. (  vidvattvam)  6.  differentiation  between  the  Self  and  not- Self  (  atma-anatma   -vivecanam  ).7. direct  experience  (  svanubhava  )  8. to  be  established  in  the  identity  of     Brahman   and  Atman  (  brahmatmana  samstiti   ) . 9. Liberation  (  mukti  )

to  be  continued.....

No comments:

Post a Comment