Saturday, 28 February 2015

Types of liberation.


Practical steps to spirituality- section 7 part 45
The Gita revisited
Types of liberation. 

                      Scriptures  say that  the  only mission in life  is  to attain  Self -Realisation  thus putting an end to the cycle of birth and death  , end  samsara  , which  Yama the  Lord of death   says in the Kathopanishad  to the  young boy  Nachiketas.'  is  putting an end  to travelling from death  to death. '. Scriptures  talk of three  types  of liberation :  jivan mukti, videha mukti  and  krama  mukti. 

                Jivan  mukti  is  getting  liberation even  while  living  . When  a person realises  God as  his own  infinite  nature even while  living here on earth   in  his  body, ,he is  believed  by Vedanta  to have  got  liberated  . Videha  mukti  is getting  liberation  only  after shedding this  body. . So  some  schools  believe   only  in videha  mukti  and  not   in  jivan  mukti for  according to these believers  , it  is  only when  a person sheds  his physical  body  that  he  finally gets  liberated. . This  person  whom  they are  talking about  is  one  who  is  though  totally free  from  the  identifications  with the  body-mind- intellect   and  has shed  his  ego  , yet  from the  worldly  standpoint  ,he  is  believed  to be  attaining  liberation  only  on shedding his  mortal  body. . This  school  also  believes  that  the  one  who  realises  God  or  the  devotee  who remembers  God  at the  time  of death  attains  videha  mukti. 

            The  third  type  of liberation  talked about in the  scriptures  is  krama  mukti- sequential  liberation. . This  school  of thought  which  advocates  krama  mukti ,  believes  that  the sincere seeker  who  does  the  subtlest  of  upasanas  while  living  , after  death  ,reaches  the  Brahma  loka  , the  abode of Brahma  . They believe  that before   the end of  Brahmaji's  life span  ,Brahmaji    gives  Self- knowledge  to the  qualified  seeker    who then  gets  liberated  from  the cycle  of  birth and death. 

            What  is  important  for  us  , seekers  on this  spiritual  journey  is  that  there  is  hope  us  to get  liberated  from the  bondages  , right in the  here  and now  and  become  a  jivan mukta .  All  we  have  to  do  is  to become  fit  (  qualified  )  following  the  four  Ds   , namely  :  Detachment  , Discrimination  , Disciplines  of  sama,  dama,  uparama  , titiksha,  shraddha  and  samadana  , all  together  are called  samadi satka  sampatti   and  finally  Desire  for  moksha  . After  gaining  these qualifications  to a certain extent  , we should approach  a  competent  Guru  , who  is  a  shrothreeya  brahma  nishta  . The  Guru  thereafter  guides  us  in the  path  of  knowledge  by taking us  through sravana, manana  and  nidhidhyasana   and  we  in the  final  meditation  come  to experience  ourselves   as   none other  than  Brahman  . Thereafter  we  will  live  as a realised  master   working only  for the  welfare  of the  world. This  is  not a dream  . It  is  in our  own hands  to  make  this  happen . 

to be  continued......


No comments:

Post a Comment