Thursday, 12 May 2016

Drg drsya viveka -verse 3 and 4


Drg  drsya  viveka  -verse 3 and  4 

                   The  first  verse  introduces   all  the  three  seers  , the  second  explains  the  first  seer  ,namely,  the  sense  organs   and  the  third  verse  introduces  the  second  seer  ,namely,  the  mind. . When  the  mind  becomes  the  seer  , the  sense  organs  become  the  seen .. The  verse  says  : The  mind  remaining  the  same  ,knows  the different  characteristics  of  the  eye  such  as  blindness , dullness  ,sharpness  and  so  on. . This  applies  in the  case  of  the  ears,  skin  and  so  on. . The  mind  reveals  the  conditions  of  the  eye  , ear  and  so  on  but  does  not  undergo any  change. . The  conditions  of  the  eye,  ear  and  so  on  do  not  belong  to  the  mind. 

                Verse  4  says  :Consciousness  remaining  the  same  ,illumines  the  thoughts  of  desire  ,willingness,  doubt  ,  belief  ,  disbelief  ,  fortitude  and  its  lack. Our  mind  is  flooded  with  thoughts  of  different  kinds   and  the  mind travels  at  a  great  speed   and  appears  to  be  having  a  continuous  flow  of  thoughts. . There  arises  a  desire  in the  mind  such  as  "  I  want  such  and  such  a  thing .". There  then  arises  a  sankalpa  (  will  )  such  as  "  I  will  read  the  textbook  "Drg  drsya  viveka ".. There  may  arise  an  opposite  sankalpa   that  is  a  vikalpa  "  should  I  read  it  now  or  later ?"  Sometimes  there  follows  a  nischayah  ,and  I  say  "  I  must    read  it  now  ".but  a  doubt  may  arise  in the  mind  "  will  the  study  of  this  text  benefit  me ?"  Faith  may  reaffirm  itself   and  then  one  comes  to  study  the  textbook. or  incase  there  is  doubt  ,one  may  not  take  up  the  study  after  all. . With  a  little  fortitude  one  may  continue  to  keep  studying  the  text  .with  faith . On  going  through  the  text  , a  person  may  feel  that  " yes  ,this  text  talks  sense ."  And  lastly  ,the  person  may  develop  fear  that  his  friend  might  take  back  his  book  anytime   and  so  he  thinks  he  must  read  it  without  wasting  any  time  .  .The  Brihadaranyaka  Upanishad  calls  these  thoughts  as  fluctuations  of  the  mind. 

               All  the  different  thoughts  as  described  above  are  all  witnessed  by  the  same  consciousness  . The  seen  is   limited,  changing  ,inert   and  perishable   and  sorrow  giving  . The  Seer  is  free  from  all the  above  limitations  . and  is  of  the  nature  of  the  Infinite,  Immutable  ,Eternal  Consciousness   and  is  of  the  nature  of  Bliss.  In  verse  4  , the  mind  itself  becomes  the  seen  ,the  experienced   or  becomes  known.. The  mind  goes  through different   states  like  knowledge,  partial  knowledge,  ignorance  ,doubt  etc  .Consciousness  spreads  over  the  mind   and  illumines  the  mind   . Consciousness  is  the  3rd  seer  , and  the  mind  is  the  seen. ,the  2nd  seer  and  sense  organs  the  1st  seer   as discussed  in   the  previous  verses. 

No comments:

Post a Comment