Thursday, 3 November 2016

Bhakti yoga

Bhakti  yoga .
              Bhakti  can  be  understood  as  devotion  to  God. . Whenever  love  is  directed  to a  higher  principle , it  is  called  devotion. . Scriptures  point  out  that  all  forms  of  love  that  a human  being  entertains  is  directed  towards  three  things. -love  towards  the  goal,  love  towards  the  means   and  love  towards  oneself. . And  love  towards  oneself  is  the  highest  in  intensity. . When  we  say  we  love  God  ,what  will  be  the  intensity  of  love  towards  God ?. Majority  of  people  look  upon  God  as  a  means  for  achieving  worldly  goals. . This  is  called  manda  bhakti. . There  are  some  who  look  upon  God  not  as  a  means  but as  their  goal  of  life because  for  them  God  provides  them  peace,  security  and  happiness. . This  is  called  madhyama  bhakti. . The  uttama  bhakti  is  that  where  one  does  not  look  at  God  as  a means  or  an  end  but  as  oneself  ,and  very  few  would  be  having  this  kind  of  intense  bhakti.

        Bhakti can also  be taken as a discipline  to achieve  a  spiritual  goal -the  goal  of  Self- Realisation. . So  when it  becomes  a  spiritual  goal  ,it  becomes  bhakti  yoga. . It  is  the  name  given  to  a set  of  disciplines  consisting  of  all  the  three  yogas  of  karma,  upasana  and  jnana. ,because  without  bhakti  they  cannot  be  pursued  or  practiced . . In  karma  yoga  ,the  seeker  does  all  actions  with  Iswara  arpana  buddhi  and  receives  the  results  as  the  Lord's  prasada. . In  upasana  , all  kinds  of  meditations  on  the  Lord  for developing   chitta  ekagrata  ,  manasa puja,  japa   are  all  done  with  bhakti  alone  invoking  the  Grace  of  the  Lord.   Jnana  yoga  also  involves  bhakti . We  start  our  studies  with  an  invocation  and  also  end  our  studies  with  a  prayer. . In  jnana  yoga,  we  are  enquiring  into  our  real  nature   that  of  our  identity  with  the  Lord . This  involves  bhakti.


No comments:

Post a Comment