Saturday, 15 July 2017

Bhaja Govindam -verse 1 continued -part 6

              In  the  Chandyogya  Upanishad  , Narada  muni  approaches  Sanathkumar   asking  for  spiritual  knowledge . The   teacher  wants  to  know  all  that  Narada  muni  knows  about   and  he  starts  enumerating  all  the  secular  knowledge , he  has  gathered , including   Grammar. . The  Guru  says  they  are  all  nothing  but  mere  names. . The  Infinite ( Bhoomaah )  is  to  be  realised  which  exceeds  all  that  Narad muni  knows . Though  we  should  not  underestimate  the  importance  of  learning  the  Grammar  of  the  Sanskrit  language  ,  yet  to  waste  one's  life time  over  the  pursuit  of  all  such  non-essentials   at  the  cost  of  knowing  what  needs  to  be  known  ,is  that  which  is  condemned  here  by  the  acharya  Sankara. 

         Another  grave  mistake  we  all  make  is  ,we  think  that   somehow  at  the  time  of  death  ,we  will   manage to remember  the  Lord. and  reach  Him. . It  is  said  in the  Geeta  that  one  who  remembers  me  at  the  'antakale  ',  reaches  the  Lord. . But  it  is  a fact  that  unless  we  have  a  constant  remembrance  of  the  Lord   at  all  times ,through  out  our  lives ,  it  will  not  be  possible  to  remember  the  Lord  right  at  the  time  of  death. . So  we  have  to  go  through  our  entire  life  remembering  Him  ,so  that   the  thought  of  the  Lord  comes  to  our  mind  spontaneously  when  Lord  Yama   is  there  in front  of  us wielding  His  rope  .

      In  this  verse  , the  acharya    says  'bhaja ' ,  which  means  chant  the  name  of  the  Lord . Chanting  is  not a  routine  and  mechanical  action  done   with  the  mind  wandering  all around . Here  'bhaja  ' means  seeking  our  identity  with  the  Lord . True  bhajan  is   total  surrender in  love  and  devotion  at  the  feet  of  the  Lord.  Hence  scriptures  speak  of  9  ways  of  glorifying  the  Lord  in order  to  express  our  love  and  devotion  to  Him . They  are  : sravanam, keertanam,  smaranam  , padasevanam  ,  archanam  , vandanam,  daasyam, ,sakhyam , and  atma nivedanam .
 Verse  1  explanation  will  continue  in the  next  pages. 


No comments:

Post a Comment